Steering group

The steering group oversees network organisation, with a focus on the regular GSSN symposium, film talks, schools initiatives and current research. Following the launch of a membership scheme in 2016, steering group members will be elected at the members’ Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Current members of the steering group are:

Chair: Professor Erica Carter, King’s College London

Treasurer and Membership Secretary: Dr Alasdair King, Queen Mary, University of London

Maren Hobein (Project Coordinator for Film, Goethe-Institut London)

Dr Martin Brady, King’s College London

Dr Michael Cowan, University of St Andrews (Website advisor)

Professor Andrew Webber, University of Cambridge (research advisor)

Dr Florian Lippert, University of Groningen

Dr Rachel Palfreyman, University of Nottingham

Dr Annie Ring, University College London

Dr Helmut Schmitz, University of Warwick

Dr Helen Hughes, University of Surrey

Dr Eleanor Halsall, King’s College London


Dr Elizabeth Ward, Nottingham Trent University (Schools liaison)

Institutional partners:

The GSSN is based in the Department of German at King’s College London; it has been generously financed since 2012 by the Department and by the School of Arts and Humanities at King’s. The network also receives substantial financial and in-kind support from:

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

Goethe-Institut London

German Embassy London

Austrian Cultural Forum

Founding universities:

Founding partner universities (2012-2016) are:

University of Kent, Department of Film Studies

University of Birmingham, Institute for German Studies

Royal Holloway, Department of Media Arts

University of Cambridge, Department of German and Dutch

University of Leeds, Department of German

Queen Mary University of London

Queen Mary University of London, School of Language, Linguistics and Film

Kings College London

University of Cambridge

Association for German Studies